You don't want to get a DUI, and you know that the legal limit in Georgia is a blood alcohol concentration of .08%. You do still want to have wine with dinner or go out to the bar with your friends; you just want to do it in a safe manner and obey the law.
A city councilman in Canton, Georgia, faces a charge of driving under the influence. He also was charged with failure to maintain lane.
If a driver makes some basic mistakes like failing to notice a stop sign or swerving out of a traffic lane, a police officer may suspect that person of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Although that officer has the right to request a driver takes a breath alcohol test, the driver is not required to give it under Georgia law.
A Georgia man recently was sentenced to 15 years in prison for a 2017 crash that left four members of a family injured. His blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of the crash was .29 percent, which is more than three times the legal limit in the state.
When you're pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving and hauled to a Georgia jail, you likely can't ponder all the potential ramifications. Once your thoughts get past how to tell your parents or significant other about your arrest, your thoughts might turn to your job.
A few drinks out with friends can turn into months of legal proceedings and heavy financial costs. That's what you have waiting for you if you are pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving in Georgia – or just about anywhere in the United States, for that matter.
You're driving along the road, heading home after a night out with friends, and you see the red lights in the mirror.
That light was a stale yellow before you entered the intersection, but you floored the gas pedal and thought you could make it through the intersection before the light turned red. Then, you see the red lights behind you, signaling for you to pull over.