That light was a stale yellow before you entered the intersection, but you floored the gas pedal and thought you could make it through the intersection before the light turned red. Then, you see the red lights behind you, signaling for you to pull over.
You just got ticketed for running a red light. That's three points on your driver's record in Georgia. You're mad at yourself, but there's nothing you can do about it now. You forget about it and drive on.
The next month, in a hurry to get to work, you illegally go around a slow-moving car ahead of you. Uh oh. There's the police car again. Four more points.
Now, you're almost halfway to the state of Georgia suspending your driver's license.
In Georgia, any driver 18 or older who amasses 15 points in a 24-month period faces driver's license suspension. Think of the impact that would have on both your personal and professional life.
Here's a sampling of what the points assessment for traffic violations in Georgia looks like:
- Six-point violations: aggressive driving, unlawfully passing a school bus, driving 34 mph-plus over speed limit.
- Four-point violations: reckless driving, improperly passing on a hill or a curve, driving 24 to 33 mph over the limit.
- Three-point violations: failing to obey either a police officer or a traffic control system, driving 19 to 23 mph over the speed limit.
- Two-point violations: open container of alcohol while driving, traveling 15 to 18 mph over the limit.
Hitting the 15-point mark can have a serious impact on a driver's record and future. A Georgia attorney who is well-versed in the laws covering traffic violations can provide advice and guidance before pleading guilty to any offense or paying a fine. It could mean the difference between keeping or losing your right to drive.